Dublin Wheelers Cycling Club




Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.

Latest Articles

No Articles available

MicK Lally Race More Details........

This race honours Mick Lally. Although he never raced, he gave three sons to the sport who commissioned the trophies in his honour. He supported them and was so proud to watch as they all represented Ireland at international level. The youngest son, Tony won the Tour of Ireland and represented Ireland at the Moscow Olympics in 1980. Two Lallys, Seán (McNally Swords CC) and Jimmy (Dublin Wheelers CC) (both pictured below) are still racing competitively in the Veterans races and will be competing on March 10.

Also taking part will be last year's winner Anthony Moran (Ravens) and previous winners Ciaran Kelly and Colm Bracken, so a close race is anticipated. A large turn out is expected, as it is the only race on in the Republic that Saturday.

The race is usually held in the Phoenix Park during the summer but with the expected road layout changes this year it has been moved to an open road race in Batterstown. The format has also changed. It will still have the familiar laps to be completed but this year a second race will be held (numbers permitting) for the S3/V/J/W categories with more prizes and ranking points up for grabs.

Mick Lally Memorial
Batterstown, Co. Meath - Saturday March 10th Dublin Wheelers Cycling Club

Start time: 10.00am Sign on: 9.00am - Blackhall Gaels GAA
clubhouse, Batterstown Mick Lally Memorial - S1/S2 88km (5 laps)

Dublin Wheelers Grand Prix - S3/V/J/W (3 laps)
Further Info: Talk to Wes
Murphy: email wesley.Murphy@helaba.de ph 086 4056653

Pre-Season Club Race !!!

Sunday 25th Feb 2007
Start 10.00am
DWCC club members and invited guests

note: club members must have paid their annual subs to race, if not already paid they will be collected on the morning of the race

Cycling Ireland Licences are now available to purchase online.

Cycling Ireland Licences are now available to purchase online.
Enter your details on www.cyclingireland.ie (make sure to use last years login and password if renewing) and once your club subs have been paid you can get a 2007 licence.

Club Subs
They can be given to a committee member on a spin or
Send a cheque (made out to Dublin Wheelers) to :

Wes Murphy
70, Priory East,
Navan Road,
Dublin 7


€50 for racing/training member
€20 for associate member

DWCC Hosts The Mick Lally Memorial Race

On Saturday March 10th Dublin Wheelers Cycling Club will host the Mick Lally Memorial Race in Batterstown. Sign on will be at 9.00 am, Race starts at 10.00am.

This year there will be 2 separate races

The Mick Lally Memorial S1/S2
The DWCC Grand Prix S3/V/J/W

Volunteers are needed so please contact via
e-mail wesley.murphy@helaba.de or mobile 086 4056653

Press Release: Dublin Wheelers lady signs Pro Cycling contract with UCI team

Julie O'Hagan, past National Road Race Champion in 2004 and unbeaten National League Winner 2004, 2005 and 2006 has just signed a contract with a new UCI professional team based in the UK.
The team - Rapha/Condor, has been put together by Manager Rene Groot (Netherlands) who has a vast experience in racing at World-class level and managing women's teams on the continent.
Julie is one of 10 riders from around the world who have been selected to ride as part of this new team, which includes girls form the UK, South Africa, El Salvador, Australia, Argentina and Ireland. The sponsors of this team are Rapha, who specialise in retro cycling clothing and Condor bicycles.
Julie will be juggling a full time job teaching in Tallaght with training and racing at the highest level in the sport.
The races will be mainly UCI and World Cup races based on the continent and will start with the Vuelta El Salvador on 14th March.

Jenny Fay of the Orwell Wheelers in Dublin is also a member of the Rapha/Condor team and she is currently based full time in Australia.

Other Irish female cyclists signing for UCI teams this year include current road race champion Siobhan Dervan (Cork) who rides full time for the Lotto ladies team based in Belgium and Louise Moriarty (Dublin) who recently signed for the new team Global Racing, based in Belgium.

It is a great success for women's cycling to have 4 ladies riding at the highest level and hopefully a sign of things to come.

Render time: 0.12 seconds
9,594,090 unique visits